Lao Roots Magazine

Paul Odom, the founder of the magazine Laoroots has a remarkable mission: publish a ” bi-monthly nation wide magazine that captures the Laotian American experience and provides a forum for English speaking Laotian Americans”. This is a monumental undertaking for anybody, but for someone with a tight and limited budget and a small staff, this is a daunting task!  It would be different if he had unlimited resources, staff, advertisers or support, but that is not the case.  In order to publish a magazine it is very expensive, stressful, and time consuming but he is passionately committed to providing a magazine every Laotian can be proud of.  

The publication of this magazine specifically gears toward showcasing Lao culture and people is historical.  Finally we have a magazine we can call our own. We need to support his endeavor by spreading the word , by subscribing,by using our networks to tap into resources or sponsors.  We need to keep this magazine afloat, but this will only happen if we all do our part. Once again do this through subscribing! If you are a business owner and would like to show your support then advertise in the magazine . All advertisers are welcome, but please contact Paul and his staff at their websites for further details. Check out their website at:  www.myspace.com/laoroots for information on subscribing and contacting Paul directly.

12 thoughts on “Lao Roots Magazine

  1. I’m definitely looking forward to seeing future issues coming out from them.

    From what we’re seeing, there are several efforts currently underway to create a Laotian / Southeast Asian American magazine market, which is a good thing for everyone.

    Some are progressive, others rather conservative, and most somewhere in between, but that’s ok. Diversity is good in our media.

  2. karmadiva

    Bryan, I know you are an editor for an online magazine, but are you involve in the publication of the other magazines coming out? I think it’s wonderful that you are also involved with the different sites. Kudos to you for being published in so many magazines as well. It is a great achievement to have a Laotian person representing our demographic!:) My brother lives where you are and I will tell him about you so he can go see you at one of your events there!

  3. Right now, I’m primarily assisting Bakka Magazine as one of it’s literary editors, and providing technical advice and content from time to time to a number of other magazines and projects you’ll find around online.

    For Laotian Americans who want to see change within the community, part of that process is creating a literary presence.

    Writing, particularly good writing, leaves something for both the present and future generations to consider and to reflect on over time, with far more reach than just saying it aloud during a busy festival, celebration or family gathering, for example.

    Whether you want to keep things the same or change them, by putting your opinions out there for consideration, you create the potential for either.

    If you write nothing, if you share nothing of your opinions, your thoughts will have no weight, no record of your agreement or disagreement will exist.

    But one should value one’s ability to make decisions and form their own opinions. It is one of the joys of being human.

    This is not a guarantee that you will be read, of course. No one can guarantee that.

    But what is certain is that if you create nothing, nothing will be found.

    So of course, I encourage people to write not just for one or two magazines, but for many. You never know how many lives you could change! Including your own! 🙂

  4. Thanks for the words of wisdom Bryan, It might appear that I’ve picked on you some, but hope you don’t take it personally, you’ve always managed to push my thoughts a bit further, always something to think about.

    I’ve to write for someone but have been dragging my feet, it’s time to get back into the swing of things. Sometimes I get intimidated thinking that my work might get scrutinized and criticized by editors, but then again if I’m passionate about what I’m writing, than the work would show for itself, I shouldn’t have to worry about what the editors think, if it doesn’t get published, then there’s always room at my blog. Thanks again for the word of wisdom and encouragement. 🙂

  5. The world is wide enough for many views, and can be shaped by many surprising things.

    We look at the work of the Chinese poet Bei Dao, who has to write in exile under a pseudonym because of the consequences of his belief in freedom and the important of free speech.

    He still writes, even at the threat of losing his life, his family, his reputation.

    Is everything he writes perfect or world-changing? No. But every word he writes is an act of defiance against those who would pen us into a world of fear.

    Free speech must be exercised or it becomes all too easy to lose it.

    And for everything many of us have lost, and for everything so many others sacrificed to gain for us, to be silent from fear of ‘unpopularity’ is to spit in our history and in our future.

    No voice is perfect. But an imperfect voice is far preferable to fearful silence. And who knows. Bring enough voices together, you might hear some amazing music from it all.

  6. karmadiva

    One of my favorite song is by Natalie Bedingfied and it’s called “Unwritten” . The whole song really expresses how I feel about writing, but these line says it all:

    No one else, no one else

    Can speak the words on your lips

    Drench yourself in words unspoken

    Live your life with arms wide open

    Today is where your book begins

    The rest is still unwritten

    I think these lines add to what you are saying Bryan about the importance of writing and sharing our views, our thoughts and opinions with the world. We can not let fear, intimidation, nervousness or insecurity to choke the words in our throats preventing our innermost thoughts to surface because that is a tragedy. We never know how far reaching our influence can be.

    Ginger, I used to be so nervous about the idea of expressing my points of view about certain subjects because I was afraid it was too opinionated or even dumb. Writing to me is an escape from the mundane, but it is a vital outlet for me. The importance of it is comparable to food and water. When I write I do feel naked because it’s so intimate; the idea of sharing my innermost thoughts, fears, hopes and dreams with the world ! It’s like standing in the middle of a crowded room with my trench coat on then flinging it open and screaming at the top of my lungs, ” Hey world look at me!” Then tensing to see the reaction of my audience, my judge and jury and waiting for the verdict. Are they going to clap and exclaimed, “Bravo! Magnifique!” or are they going to be aghast and in horror say, ” EEEEWWWW! and run the other way! I realize now that either response is okay because I write because through my writing “I break tradition, sometimes my tries, are outside the lines. We’ve been conditioned to not make mistakes, but I can’t live that way”. I have lived my life too long worrying about pleasing others and being afraid to show who I am! Yes, sometimes my thoughts are very random and cluttered, but it belongs to me!:)

    Thank you both for motivating me to break traditions and refusing to remain silent!:)

  7. karmadiva

    Thank you Amphone! I have enjoyed reading your blog as well! Here’s to doing good in the world!

    Underneath the blue sky
    I lift my face, watching the clouds roll by
    smiling, raising my arms high

    When I read your line… under this blue sky, I had these words popped into my mind!:) It describes how I view the world, it’s a beautiful place to be because I choose it to be! I will definitely try to finish this poem soon! Thanks Amphone for the thought!

  8. amphone

    You know, one can really get attach to these words. Thanks. I got one I wrote last night. Too late to post it. Lot to do. Kob jai for sharing yours.

Leave a Reply

