Ten quotes that inspires change

It seems like yesterday that we were all singing, Party like it’s 1999 by Prince or maybe it’s just me stuck in the ‘80s and ‘90s where life seem less complicated and slow. When 2000 roll around, everything seems to move at a faster pace due to technology. As I think about a new year, I can’t help but remember moments where life crawled by at a snail’s pace, where the day seem longer, but not necessarily dull or uneventful. Now, I feel like the white rabbit frantically running around screaming, “I’m late for an important date!” Has our life become a list of dates, appointments, and events that we HAVE to do, attend, or show up? Do we need to constantly be running around, or be busy, social, or stressed in order to feel alive? Happy? Connected? What would happen if we take a moment to sit still, silence our mind and relax our body? Can we do that for an hour without thinking about what we have to do, where we need to be or what stresses us out? Personally, for me, I need to slow down and go back to those teenage days where my friend Diana, my sister Khonnie, and I squeezed and sat on the broken down brown leather chair in front of my house and watch cars go by and mumbled over and over again, “ It’s so boring!” Yes, it was that, but at least I remember more of it when I’m not rushing through it as I am now! 2010 is the year to slow it down and focus on quality time with family and friends while making a change in the community. Here are some of my favorite quotes that remind me of who I am, who I want to be, and what I want to do with my life. Some of you may be able to relate to some of these quotations and understand why I picked it.

1. We did not change as we grew older; we just became more clearly ourselves. ~Lynn Hall
2. The wheel of change moves on, and those who were down go up and those who were up go down. ~Jawaharlal Nehru
3. What you have become is the price you paid to get what you used to want. ~Mignon McLaughlin, The Neurotic’s Notebook, 1960
4. A scholar who loves comfort is not fit to be called a scholar. ~Confucius, Analects
5. Every possession and every happiness is but lent by chance for an uncertain time, and may therefore be demanded back the next hour. ~Arthur Schopenhauer
6. All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another. ~Anatole France
7. If you’re in a bad situation, don’t worry it’ll change. If you’re in a good situation, don’t worry it’ll change. ~John A. Simone, Sr.
8. There is a certain relief in change, even though it be from bad to worse! As I have often found in travelling in a stagecoach, that it is often a comfort to shift one’s position, and be bruised in a new place. ~Washington Irving
9. What can we take on trust
in this uncertain life? Happiness, greatness,
pride – nothing is secure, nothing keeps.
~Euripides, Hecuba
10. Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek. President Barack Obama

One thought on “Ten quotes that inspires change

Leave a Reply

