Rooster Vs. Alarm Clock

Donnie one my readers suggested this topic and I thought it would be interesting to consider. If you live in a village or on a farm in America, you may be able to answer this question better than those of us who don’t. What would be the most effective way to wake you up: a rooster or an alarm clock? What’s the advantage of having a rooster wake you up or an alarm clock waking you? When I lived in Laos and in the refugee camps, the “buck” “buck” or “cluck” “cluck” was familiar. I got so used to it that I would be able to fall asleep easily. All that noise was like a lullaby to me. Now that I’m living in a city, there’s no chicken noise or the rooster’s cock-a-doodle-doo to wake me so I rely on the alarm clock on my cell phone to once familiar sound of the rooster to wake me. The funny thing is, the tone or sound I pick to wake me up is a rooster’s cock-a-doodle-doo. Why would I pick this sound as my alarm? Maybe it is more natural and brings back memories of my village days. Since I live in the city, I can’t very well have a rooster in my backyard (the neighbors would probably complain!) to wake me, I use a recorded and fake rooster sound. I am interested in knowing what people use to wake them up: a rooster or an alarm clock or something else?

I found this interesting information:

“A rooster can and will crow at any time of the day. Some roosters are especially vociferous, crowing almost constantly, while others only crow a few times a day” (Wikipedia)

6 thoughts on “Rooster Vs. Alarm Clock

  1. When I was in Laos, Lao people seem to rely on body clock, most would go to sleep very early and wake up as early as 4 or 5 am, to wake up early is considered Silimongkoun (good luck) and not to mention if you live near the temple, the morning Wat gong is very loud and will definitely wake anyone up by 6 am. I think a rooster’s crow is just a myth.

  2. Laotian Teacher

    I understand about body clock because on the weekends, when I try to sleep in I end up waking up about the same time when I get up for work during the week day. My body and subconscious seems to be tuned to it.

    As for the rooster’s crow, it is just nostalgic for me. I chose that ring tone because it reminds me to get up. When I had set it up using music, I end up sleeping through it.

  3. When I first moved to Luang Prabang a few months ago, I thought I was going to go insane from rooster crowing. Now, though, I find it the most pleasant way to wake up in the morning. I set an alarm the other day for an important meeting, and the incessant beeping was a terrible way to start my day!
    For me, roosters is is! One of the many things I’m coming to love about living here.
    PS Love your blog!

  4. Laotian Teacher

    Leslie, why did you move to Luang Praban? Since I don’t have roosters and can’t keep it in the city, I have my fake rooster sound going on! Just this morn, I woke up with the sound of the roosters even though I was tired.

    I’m glad you like my blog. You are welcome to come back!

  5. My boyfriend and I moved here basically because we love all things Lao. We travelled SE Asia a couple years ago and finally decided it’s time to come back. (We spent day after day home in Portland dreaming of being here, so, why not do it?!)
    Now I work for an NGO, Pencils of Promise, and do a lot of stuff with education in some surrounding villages.
    Absolutely love being here. What a beautiful country!
    I love that you have a rooster alarm. When and if we move stateside again, I’m sure that’s something I’ll need to invest in.

  6. well here the funny thing about the rooster that most youngerster in America may or may not understand.True
    a rooster may cluck anytime before sunrise and while most of us are still trying to sleep it’s a reminder to tell us it’s time to go to work in the rice filed or you’ll be starved for the whole year.And it America we work between our job and school we sometime wake up late so we need an alarm clock to wake us up.In our country back in Laos if we go to work on the rice field late it would be too hot and most of the work woldn’t be done for the day.
    That’s why it’s most to have a rooster to wake us up but the dead truth is rooster wakes up before our human body.And here in America,you all know pretty well that between work and school we always go to bed late and try to get to things done before day break arrived.And most of the time we do get up late in the morning to start our day.That why i had brought up a subject about a rooster vs. an alarm clock.Who’s going to wake us up first.So on the contrary, you all already know the answer.

Leave a Reply

