The Betrayal

Ai Thavi speaking about his refugee experience

At the first International Lao New Year, I had the pleasure of meeting Ai Thavi, the co-director and star of the well-known refugee documentary, “The Betrayal”.  I remember the first time I met him was when Dara, my sister and I picked him up at the airport in San Francisco. We were thanking him for taking the time out of his busy schedule to come down to support the festival. He was so humble and gracious. He told us he would do anything for the Lao community and that it was time for all of us to come together to do something great. I was blown away by his kindness and genuine  desire to unite the Lao community. As a result of his motivation to support the Lao organizations in the U.S., he travels to many events throughout the country.

If you have not seen the documentary like me (I’m waiting for my copy) please do so. Everyone has told me it is life-changing and heartbreaking. This documentary covers over 23 years of his  life.  Here is a trailer so you can see:

Leave a Reply

