Annelise’s college profile

Two Bachelors: Psychology and Sociology

Years took to finish degrees: 4

1. When did you graduate from high school and when did you start college?

I graduated from HS in May 2003, and I started college the following semester in fall 2003

2. Was it a difficult choice for you to make to go to college?  Why or why not?

No, it wasn’t a difficult choice to make at all.  Aside from doing well in school and actually liking it, I pursued college because I kind of felt like I had to go.  The reasons being because my parents brought it up to me constantly and because my two older brothers and two older sisters went and all graduated. So, in a way, it kind of felt like ‘tradition’.

3. Have you always wanted to go to college? Why or Why not?

Yes, I’ve always have. There was never a doubt in my mind that I wasn’t going to go.  I’ve always wanted to go, because I had seen my older siblings go and my parents wanted me to go.

4. How did you decide on what you wanted to major in?

By simply taking the intro class.  When I first started college, my major was going to be Biology because I loved it in HS, but once I started taking Bio classes, it just wasn’t the same.  So, I took an intro class to Psychology and I loved it.  So I stuck with it.

5.  Why did you double major? Was it difficult to double major? 

After deciding to major in Psychology and taking some sociology classes, I talked to my sister Khonnie, and she was the one that actually told me that I should go ahead and do a double major since the classes were very similar.  So, I decided, why not?  No, it wasn’t difficult to double major, due to that reason, that the classes complemented each other well, so I was glad that I did.

6.  How did you keep up your grade or stay motivated?

I kept my grades up by studying hard.  I would say that I’m a ‘self-motivator’.  I did well studying on my own, choosing that over group study, because when you study by yourself, you study what you want to study and what you need to work on the most.  It was difficult for me to study with groups, because not everyone learns at the same pace, so it seemed like we were never on the same page. 

7. What was your favorite class? Why?

My favorite class was Abnormal Psychology because you learned about the various mental disorders.

8. What advice do you have for first year college student?

Advice I have for the first year college student would be to stay open minded.  Like I mentioned earlier, since I loved Biology in HS, I really thought that I was going to major in it as well, but when I took intro to psych, because my general education requirements required me to take a social science, I fell in love with the subject.  So, when you take those classes to fulfill your general education requirements, be open minded because you might be surprised by what will interest you.

9. What is the hardest part of college?

The hardest part of college is growing up and being independent.  When you’re in high school, you’re just having fun being a teen and hanging out with friends.  In college you have to take yourself seriously because now you’re working towards your future career.  Also, your parents are not there anymore to wake you up to get to class, or to tell you to go to school.  When you’re in college, you choose when you want to go to class or not.  Also, you decide when you’ll study for a test and how much time you are going to spend. So, if you’re not motivated to go to classes and do well, then you won’t do well in college.

10. How many of your friends went to college and how completed their degrees?

I hung out with a set group of friends throughout high school, about 5 people, and out of the 5, only 2 have completed their degrees.

Leave a Reply

