Respect yourself! Don’t wreck yourself!

A couple of weeks ago, Megan Fox said in in a recent interview with Esquire that she’s uncomfortable being a sex symbol. On the cover of the magazine she is wearing nothing more than her bra and underwear with a jacket thrown over the ensemble to show a semblance of decency. When she was asked if she liked her picture she said “I felt powerless in that image,” she says. “I didn’t feel powerful. It ate every other part of my personality, not for me but for how people saw me, because there was nothing else to see or know. That devalued me. Because I wasn’t anything. I was an image. I was a picture. I was a pose.” I find this ironic because her picture contradicts her words. If she is so uncomfortable about being portrayed as a sex symbol then why is she half naked on the cover? Why don’t she put on the rest of her outfit like a shirt and pants or skirt to cover up her undergarments? Otherwise, she should just  quit complaining about being objectified because nobody will believe a word she says!

This story reminds me of how so many women complain about the unwanted attention from men but yet do nothing to dispel it but instead intensify it by walking around showing all their goods. Ladies, there’s nothing wrong with dressing how you want but don’t complain if you get the wrong kind of attention or too much attention. Just own it! Smile and say thank you instead of acting all outrageous and angry when the opposite sex hoot and hollar ! Just because you dress like a vamp doesn’t mean you have to be one or act like one.

Leave a Reply

