Transgender Bathroom Case

Transgender 6 year old wins bathroom case

***I would like to preface this post by saying that I am a mother, educator, and advocator. I do not want anybody to be getting irate and start cussing me out and calling me a hater because of my opinion on this issue. Just keep an open mind before you send me hate mail!:) In order to give you a better understanding of where I’m coming from, I am going to briefly give you my personal history.

When my family and I were in the refugee camp in Thailand, my parents “adopted” a couple of single young men to be part of our family. These young single men did not have their families with them so we absorbed them into our own at the camp. One particular young man in the group became close with my family, we called him our “nanny.” He often watched over us when my parents needed him. Of course back then my siblings did not know he was a transgender. I was only five so I didn’t think of him as different. When we immigrated to America, “Sam” our nanny was left behind until he got sponsored and was able to come to America. Years later my parents would tell me that he was living in California and competed in many beauty pageants for transgenders. I was quite surprised because I didn’t have a clue that he thought he was a woman until my parents told me. For those of you who are confused about what transgender is, GLAAD’s website states that Transgender’ is an umbrella term often used to refer to people whose gender identity differs from their assigned sex at birth”. In the case of my nanny and the little girl in this recent lawsuit that has been in the news, they both identify themselves as a transgender. If you have not heard of the lawsuit in regards to the little six year old, her parents sued the school because they felt that she was discriminated against because she was not allowed to go to the girl’s bathroom. Okay, now this is the part where many of you may have a different opinion than I, but I have to be honest about how I feel about this lawsuit.

Speaking from a parent’s point of view, if I was the parent of the transgender child, I would not want her to be going to the same bathroom as the girls because I would not want them to be making fun of her and start asking questions like, ” Why do you have a penis if you are a girl?” I think it would harm my child more than anything. Kids at that age can not fully understand what transgender is and they can say hurtful things because of ignorance. Also,if I was the parent of the other kids I would not want the transgender child going to the same bathroom as my little girl because I don’t want her to be traumatized when the little kid pulls out her penis. So what is the answer then? I think the transgender child should be allowed to go to the staff’s bathroom instead.

From an advocator stand point, I understand the parents belief that their child is being discriminated against by not being able to go to the girl’s bathroom. However, if you look at the big picture, are they really doing any favor for their child by going public? I say this because this case has made the front news and the child’s face and story is on youtube and in the media where everyone has access to it. This early exposure to the media does more harm than good. The mother says that they will be moving her to a new school to start over but will that really happen? Yes, the new school who more than likely been had been forewarned about this case will probably let her use the girl’s bathroom but will that stop the other kids or parents from discriminating against her? If the child considers himself a girl trapped in a boys body, more than likely he is still trying to deal with the confusion and with this media circus, is that really going to alleviate any stress?

What do you all think? Should the child be allowed to use the same bathroom as the sex she identifies with or do you think it would do more harm than good?

Leave a Reply

