Global We Got Married

In May my friend introduced me to the popular Korean show, “Global We Got Married”. “In this global spin-off of the wildly popular ‘We Got Married’, it becomes a meeting of cultures as celebrities from different countries are coupled together and work through their reality-TV marriage.” The couple that I found myself attached to is Ok Taec Yeon
(Korean pop star from the group 2PM) and Wu Ying Jie (popular Taiwanese actress and singer). Even though I knew the show was scripted to a certain extent and that their marriage was “fake”, I couldn’t help but find myself wishing their make-believe union was real. It was not long before I suspended my disbelief and pretended that these two individuals were really a couple. Maybe it’s because they have such a good connection/chemistry that it’s difficult to believe that they are faking it for the show. I along with many fans, expressed our sorrow when the show ended with the tearful parting of these love birds in episode 15. We all wanted the show to continue and found ourselves creating a petition to pressure the creators of the show to give us more episodes.

Based on my own personal experience and observation of other fans, I have concluded that we are obsessed with this show because it depicts the type of romance/love that we want or crave. Secretively I’m sure many of us girls/woman want a man who is humorous, kind, sweet, silly, considerate and goofy like Taec. The relationship that is depicted in the show is sweet and romantic. It is no wonder that so many people became attached to this couple and want their marriage to be real. The “married couple” had great chemistry and that translated quite well onscreen. Ergo, we romantic girls at heart, aspire to find a love like that. Yes, some of us still believe in fairy tales and happily ever after.

If you would like to watch the show here is the link: http://www.dramafever.com/drama/4268/1/We_Got_Married_-_Global_Edition/?ap=1

Leave a Reply

